The First Commandment ranks first among all the commandments, because it is the …

The First Commandment ranks first among all the commandments, because it is the most important commandment. All other commandments are based on reverence and love for God.


OLD TESTAMENT – Deuteronomy 5:7-9
NEW TESTAMENT – Cf. Mt 4:10, 22:36-38; Mk 7:22


The first Commandment requires Adoration, sacrifice, promises, vows, faith, hope, love, and worship of God, reverence for holy things and prayer.

1) To offer to God alone the supreme worship that is due Him by acts of faith, hope and love (charity).

2) Faith obliges us to make efforts to find out what God has revealed, to believe firmly what God has revealed and to profess our faith openly whenever necessary.

3) Hope obliges us to trust firmly that God will give us eternal life and the means to obtain it.

4) Love (charity) obliges us to love God above all thing


The First Commandment Condemns Idolatry, superstition, magic, divination (the occult), irreligion, atheism, agnosticism, spiritism; tempting God; sacrilege; attendance at false worship.

The First Commandment forbids:

(A) Sins which detract from the honour and worship of God, such as:

1) Neglect of prayer. [Not talking to God on a daily basis.]

2) Superstitious practices: divination, consulting fortune-tellers, attaching undue importance to dreams and omens. [Seeking help from spirits that are not God.]

3) Tempting God by exposing oneself to danger of soul, life or health without grave cause. [Expecting or demanding a miracle from God.]

4) Sacrilige – Profane or superstitious use of blessed objects [Irreverent use of a crucifix, rosary or statue of Jesus, Mary or the Saints.]

5) Profanation of places or things consecrated to God. [Chewing gum, wearing
inappropriate clothes, unnecessary talking or silliness in Church.]

6) Receiving the sacraments in a state of mortal sin.

(B) Sins against Faith, such as:

1) Willful doubt of any article of Faith. [Rejecting belief in angels, rejecting parts of the Bible, existence of the Devil, etc.]

2) Reading or circulating books or writings against Catholic belief or practice

3) Joining in schismatic or heretical worship [Taking part in worship that divides the Church or is based on false teachings, such as a service with a priest that is a woman. Taking part in satanic worship.]

4) Denying one’s religion. [Denying that you are Catholic in word or action.]

5) Neglecting means of religious instruction.

Leave a Comment